Eight days and counting!

I know, I know… Three posts in three days. A new personal best. Consider yourselves lucky!

Today was a big day for sight seeing in Rome! I’m trying to pack everything in that I can in my last week here, and I got to cross a lot of things off the list today!

Here’s a run down of today’s events, including pictures!

7:20am

Left the apartment in Trastevere to meet group at studio to walk together to Galleria Borghese across town for the Caravaggio/Bacon exhibit.

Cut over past the Pantheon to the main drag that runs all the way through Rome (Via del Corso), then cut over to the Piazza de Spagna and the Spanish Steps (one of the items on the Rome To-Do list!), climbed to the top (138 steps), then walked to Villa Borghese.

Spanish Steps!

9:00-11:00am

Toured the Galleria Borghese, which was a work of art in itself.  Viewed the Caravaggio and Bacon displays, but the best part (for me at least) were the sculptures on display by Gian Lorenzo Bernini–my favorite artist of the Baroque era.  His stuff is astounding.  I just finished a research paper for art history, and Bernini was my topic.  Seeing these things in real life were the highlight.  We weren’t allowed to take pictures in the galleria, but here are some of my favorites I found online.

Apollo and Daphne--she is being transformed into a laurel tree--see fingers=leaves, toes=roots

The Rape of Proserpina--Pluto's kiddnapping of Proserpina, taking her to the underworld. Awesome lifelike detail.

Look at the detail in Rape of Proserpina--dimpled flesh, the veins in the hands

11:00am-1:00pm

After seeing all that the Borghese Gallery had to offer, we spent  a couple hours tromping around Villa Borghese and the Borghese gardens.  This is a HUGE area, so we didn’t see much of it, but it was a very nice, quiet place.  There were lots of places to sit and enjoy the scenery, several dog parks, a pond, countless beautiful fountains and statues, and walking paths everywhere.  Interspersed are several museums, and even a zoo!  There were lots of runners, families, young people, bikers, etc., all enjoying the parks today.  It was nice and relaxing ad quiet and beautiful.  I enjoyed it very much!

Crunchy fall leaves 🙂

I like pine cones.

Cute little bug chasing her puppies!

Enjoying the day beautiful day!

Roman skyline as seen from Villa Borghese--St. Peter's dome is visible to the right

1:00-6:00pm

After a few hours of exploring the parks at Borghese, we met up with some classmates and walked over to Palazzo de San Pietro.  It only took us about a half hour to walk there.  Once we got to St. Peter’s square we were greeted by the beautiful sight of a giant Christmas tree! It was very neat.  We spent some time taking pictures of the tree and the exterior of St. Peter’s Basilica.  It was the first time I had been here in the daylight hours, so I took lots of pictures of the square and the exterior, as well as the interior (much cooler during the day).  Also–the absolute highlight of my day, and maybe even of all my time in Rome–I had the opportunity to climb up to the top of the dome of St. Peter’s Basilica (551 steps!) and spend about an hour watching the sun set over the entire Eternal City!  I was very much on top of the world this afternoon–a blessing that was much needed in what has proven to be an especially tough week.

Christmas time is here 🙂

St. Peter's Basilica

The view from the top of the dome at St. Peter's!

Sunset over Rome. Definitely worth the 5euro.

The terrifying steps coming down from the dome

The Swiss Guard are just too cute.

So that was my Thursday!  Not a bad way to spend a day, I’d say.  They were working on setting up the Nativity inside St. Peter’s, and said it’d be completed and unveiled on the 15th of December, so it would probably be worth a trip back just to see that! Good day today, and I couldn’t wait to share it with you.

8 days til we’re homeward bound!

Thanks for readin’,

-J

2 responses to “Eight days and counting!

  1. Oh my goodness. Why am I all teary eyed here? Maybe because I’m so thrilled that you have had this wonderful, wonderful experience and enjoyed it so very much. Your photographs today knocked my socks off!!! Thank your for taking us all along on this fabulous journey to Italy with you.

    My love and prayers to you during this sad time for your family. Blessings and much love.
    V

  2. All the things you have done and seen are mind-boggling! You’ve had such a neat experience.

    The tribute to your grandfather was really special, Jen. It brought tears to my eyes. Due to the blizzard, we weren’t able to attend the service; but all of your family were in our thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

