So much to see see in Assisi (and Ostia Antica!)

Buonasera, Pals!

So I have soooooo much to catch you up on in the recent events of my life. I apologize for being a blog-stranger. A blanger if you will.

Let’s see… where to begin.

ASSISI

Last weekend, September 26th, the design program chartered a bus to take a group of us (whoever wanted to go) to Assisi for the day.  Of course, no one turned it down.  I didn’t have any expectations, as I had no idea what Assisi was. The bus left our studio around 8am, and I was excited from the git-go–the bus was a double decker!  My roommates and I grabbed the front seats of the top deck and had the best seats in the house the whole 2 hours of the ride.  Once we got there, I was astounded.  The views were breathtaking, the village was gorgeous, and the cathedrals were wonderful. We were free to do our own exploring through the town, so we roamed around, grabbed some lunch, did a little shopping, and toured the St. Francis and Saint Claire cathedrals.  Then around 5pm we packed back up in the double-decker and headed back toward Rome.  The day was definitely a great one!

Assisi as seen from the city below

Assisi as seen from the city below

A new friend I made in Assisi, he wanted a picture :)

A new friend I made in Assisi, he wanted a picture 🙂

St. Francis of Assisi's Cathedral

St. Francis of Assisi's Cathedral

Interior of St. Francis Cathedral

Interior of St. Francis Cathedral

Enjoying Assisi and the finest gelato I've had yet! Caffe and Pistacio... YUM.

Enjoying Assisi and the finest gelato I've had yet! Caffe and Pistacio... YUM.

Assisi

Assisi

The scarves Italy is known for--so tempting, I want them all.

The scarves Italy is known for--so tempting, I want them all.

Sunday, the 27th, my roommates and I went to one of Rome’s biggest markets south of Trastevere (or maybe it’s west… I can’t seem to get my bearings here). The place was HUGE and had more than I could have imagined. I bought two “Cashmere” sweaters for 18 euro (what do you think the liklihood of them being real cashmere is? Yeah, I say slim to none, too.)

A tiny glimpse of the street markets in Rome

A tiny glimpse of the street markets in Rome

Monday and Tuesday were pretty uneventful… Just chaotic with school (the norm), working on floor plans using triangulation, and retail spaces, and learning about watercolors, and how to make books… Kid stuff, I’m sure! Wednesday was pretty great, we took a few hours out of class and hopped on a train to a place called Ostia Antica. It’s probably about a half hour from Rome, and it’s a huge area purely of ruins.  These ruins were excavated beginning in the late 1800s, but most of the excavating was carried out by Moussolini from 1938 to 1942.  The ruins date back to the 4th and 3rd centuries B.C.–it’s so surreal to walk into  a room or look out over ruins and realize you’re standing in the footsteps of someone who has been long gone for well over 2000 years. What did they look like? What did they do for a living? Were they funny? Did they have a family? or pets? or a boat? And what about 2000 years from now? Will people be excavating the ruins of Wal-Marts and KFC’s in Iowa, and learning about way way back in 2009 AD when the Great Obama ruled over all the land formerly known as the United States?  Anyway, Ostia was real cool, and we had a great afternoon running around the ruins! It would be a great place for a game of Hide-and-Seek.

Tile mosaics on the floors of what used to be thermal baths

Tile mosaics on the floors of what used to be thermal baths

A bar/serving area in a storefront where hot food could be purchased (McDonalds, Ancient-style)

A bar/serving area in a storefront where hot food could be purchased (McDonalds, Ancient-style)

Community Restrooms? The Latrines! A room full of crappers. Apparently the ancient folks weren't shy.

Community Restrooms? The Latrines! A room full of crappers. Apparently the ancient folks weren't shy.

These frescoes have some staying power... 2300 years? I'm impressed.

These frescoes have some staying power... 2300 years? I'm impressed.

Looking out over the ruins.

Looking out over the ruins.

So that’s a little glimpse of my first half of last week… TONS more to come, since I was on a field trip Thursday through Sunday, but it’s already 1am and I have class tomorrow! This will have to tide you folks over for now…

Talk to you soon, thanks for reading!

-J

One response to “So much to see see in Assisi (and Ostia Antica!)

  1. hi..
    i miss you and i’m sorry we haven’t been able to skype recently. life is crazy here but i’m sure it’s even crazier there. i just read your entire blog since i’ve been a slacker and this is the first time i’ve been back on here! i feel like i talk to you enough that i’m all caught up but i guess not!

    what amazing pictures jen.. i’m so jealous. seeing them makes me sad i’m not there with you. 😦 you better be eating every food with me in mind.. that’s the one thing i remember about being over there is the delicious food.

    ps – saving jane came to simpson a while back and guess what?! they sang our song!! it was awesome. i also got a free signed picture of them (due to chit chatting it up with the drummer, Dak) and a picture with marty on my phone since my camera was dying.

    well, i should go do homework and then i have to go to work. lets try to find each other online one of these days!

    love you

Leave a Reply

