One week in…

So I’m a week into classes and… woof.

I already feel like I’m drowning in drawings and mixed media and Italian homework and art history research papers! I’m learning that classes aren’t any more fun just because you’re 5,000 miles away from campus.  There’s so much to see and do in Italy that I feel like I don’t have time for such frivolity as homework! (Today I left class to buy some art supplies–should have taken about 20 minutes tops–I managed to turn it into a 2.5 hour excursion. Woops!)  In school, I’m learning REAL Italian, taught by a REAL Italian woman named Simona.  She speaks nothing but Italian the entire two hours of class, twice a week, and most of the time we students just sit there with that dead-fish look on our faces. I’m sorry Simona, but I have no idea what you’re saying. No matter how many times you repeat yourself, I still don’t know what, “Ho mal di pancia, perche ho mangiato troppo” means. In my retail design studio, we had to go to a lighting store and select a lamp fixture, draw it, dimension it, and design our own lighting store  based on it (uh, what?). My teacher is German, and very friendly, but I haven’t the foggiest notion what he wants from my work. Oh well! In my Mixed Media class we’re doing some pretty cool stuff. Right now we’re making a memory book to document our time spent here in Rome. We went to a nearby kiosk and bought an old book for 2 euro, and it will become an intricate-artsy-more sophisticated than a scrapbook-scrapbook. Very excited about it.

Today was kind of long, left for class at 8:15 this morning, got home at 8 this evening. Had to walk the 2 miles home alone for the first time since I left Ames, and I must admit, I was kind of a baby about it.  They tell us to never ever be alone here, but I didn’t have much of an option since none of my roommates had the same schedule as me today. But I made it home in one piece (despite a few close calls with Vespas), and I’m fairly confident I can do it again tomorrow–especially since it’ll be the middle of the afternoon and therefore less creepy.

The longer I’m in Italy, the more I fall in love with it. I know I say it every time, but I just can’t believe I’m really here.  Here’s some pictures I took today while I was out “buying art supplies” (Come on Christoph, did you really expect me to sit at my desk for 8 hours? Be serious.)   🙂

Bernini's Elephant, outside the Santa Maria sopra Minerva cathedral

Bernini's Elephant, outside the Santa Maria sopra Minerva cathedral

Inside Santa Maria sopra Minerva--the cathedral where the father of modern astronomy Galileo Galilei, after tried for heresy in the adjoining monastery, retracted his scientific theses in the church on the 22nd of June 1633. Very cool to be in the same building as Galileo.

Inside Santa Maria sopra Minerva--the cathedral where the father of modern astronomy Galileo Galilei, after tried for heresy in the adjoining monastery, retracted his scientific theses in the church on the 22nd of June 1633. Very cool to be in the same building as Galileo.

Michelangelo's 'Christ the Redeemer' near the alter.

Michelangelo's 'Christ the Redeemer' near the alter.

Ceiling detail in the cathedral

Ceiling detail in the cathedral

One of the roughly million frescoes in the cathedral. Gorgeous. A lucky find for sure--beats an art supply store!

One of the roughly million frescoes in the cathedral. Gorgeous. A lucky find for sure--beats an art supply store!

The roommates and I went on a tour of the Colosseum! This is me standing on some remnants of pillars!

The roommates and I went on a tour of the Colosseum! This is me standing on some remnants of pillars!

The COLOSSEUM!

The COLOSSEUM!

More to come, as you already know 🙂

Talk to you soon!

-J

2 responses to “One week in…

  1. Hey Jeni–
    I’ve been enjoying reading your blog, and “seeing the sights” over there, via your great pictures! Wow! And it’s fun to hear about all your adventures–you have a fun writing style! I’m sure I would be distracted from the homework, too, with all the sites to see! Take care, and enjoy your semester!

  2. OH my you are having so much fun! I am so envious of everything you are getting to see and do. Two hours of Italian. H mmmmm, I think I’d be drowning too. Remember, you really learn to love a new place by wandering around, poking your head in shops, etc. Attempting to speak their language will open many doors for you. They don’t mind the bad accent or the incorrect grammar. They usually think it charming. I throw in a little sign language when my French fails me, and it fails me very often! Can’t wait to see more photos. Keep em coming,
    Ginny!

Leave a Reply

